Sex Offender Unit
The Etowah County Sheriff's Office Sex Offender Unit registers and tracks all criminal sex offenders who reside or work inside Etowah County.
Random, monthly visits are made, by Deputies and Investigators, to a criminal sex offender's registered home and work addresses. This helps to ensure that individuals convicted of sex crimes are where they should be.
Investigators assigned to the Sex Offender unit also tracks offenders with a web-based software called Offender Watch. This system provides offender registration, ongoing compliance management, and community notification.
All adult sex offenders who are subject to the Community Notification Act will appear on the website and public rosters, as well as, mail outs of information and photos to residents within 2000 square feet of the declared residence of adult criminal sex offenders.
The intent in imposing certain reporting and monitoring requirement on adult criminal sex offenders and requiring public notification of the residence and workplace of adult criminal sex offenders is to protect the public, especially children, from convicted adult criminal sex offenders.
On June 9, 2011 Governor Robert Bentley signed Act number 2011-640, a new set of laws and requirements for Criminal Sex Offenders, in the state of Alabama. The laws went into effect on July 1, 2011.
ADULT SEXUAL OFFENDER REQUIREMENTS
The summarized information regarding the Alabama Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification Act ("Act") is listed below and must be signed by the sexual offender for inclusion with the offender's required registration information under Alabama Act Number 2011-640. This summary describes the responsibilities of a sex offender as provided by the Alabama Sex Offender Registration and Community Notification Act.
The provisions of the Act are applicable to every person described in the Act, without regard to when his or her crime or crimes were committed or his or her duty to register pursuant to the Act arose, and to every offense described in the Act, regardless of when it was committed.
- The offender shall register all required registration information listed in Act No. 2011-640 at least 30 days prior to release or immediately upon notice of release if release is less than 30 days.
- The offender is required to register all required registration information within three (3) days of release, or conviction if the offender is not incarcerated, with local law enforcement in each county/municipality where the offender intends to reside, be employed or attend school.
- The offender is required to register within three (3) days of establishing a new residence, accepting employment or beginning school attendance with local law enforcement in each county/municipality in which the offender establishes residence, accepts employment or begins school attendance.
- The offender is required to register within three (3) days of transferring or terminating a residence, employment or school attendance with local law enforcement in each county/municipality in which the offender is terminating residence, employment or school attendance.
- Whenever an offender changes any required registration information listed in Act No. 2011-640, the offender must appear in person and update the required registration information with local law enforcement in each county/municipality in which the offender is resides, is employed or attends school within three (3) days.
- If the offender has any change in or loss of fixed residence, the offender must immediately report such change in person to local law enforcement. The offender must then follow all provisions in Act No. 2011-640 concerning homeless sex offenders, including weekly registration.
- The offender shall appear in person and register all required registration information listed in Act No. 2011-640 with local law enforcement in each county/municipality where the offender resides, is employed or attends school during the offender's birth month and every three months thereafter for the duration of the offender's life.
- All out of state offenders must register in accordance with the Act and must provide a certified copy of their conviction within 30 days of the initial registration.
- The offender shall be required to pay a registration fee of $10 to each registering agency where the offender resides beginning with the first quarterly registration on or after July 1, 2011 and at each quarterly registration thereafter.
- Each time the offender terminates his or her residence and establishes a new residence, he or she shall pay a registration fee of $10 to each registering agency where the offender establishes a new residence.
- Any offender convicted of violating the Act shall be subject to $250 fine.
A Message From The Sheriff
This site is maintained as a public service for the citizens of Etowah County. As Sheriff, it is my pleasure to serve you in this manner. If you have any questions or suggestions, please feel free to contact us.